The remit for the Governing Body is to:

Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governing Body Composition:

Type of GovernorNo.
Local Authority1
Associate Members1
Names of GovernorsType of GovernorTerm of OfficeDate of appoint-mentAppointed byDate of resignation (if resigned in last 12 months)
Cllr Charles RigbyLA12.07.21-
12.07.2017Wigan LA
Mr David WhiteheadCO-OPT01.09.19-31.08.2308.01.04GB board
Mrs Kath FreemanCO-OPT13.07.20-12.07.2430.03.12GB board
Mrs Rebecca RamsdenCO-OPT23.03.20-22.03.2401.04.12GB board
Mr Paul McCafferyH/TEACHER01.09.21-31.08.6301.09.21Ex-officio
Mr David LiggettCO-OPT01.10.18-30.09.2212.11.02GB board
Mrs Lynn HayesCO-OPT01.10.18-30.09.2215.11.10GB board
Mrs Victoria JacksonCO-OPT01.09.19-31.08.2301.09.15GB board
Mrs Karen VitalisASSOCIATE*05.06.18-04.06.2028.05.18GB board
Mr Neil RobertsSTAFF17.05.21-16.05.2502.07.09Staff
Mr Channon WoodwardPARENT27.09.21-26.09.2527.09.21Parents
Mrs Joanna CoopPARENT17.05.21-16.05.2517.05.21Parents
Mrs Helen PhillipsH/TEACHER01.09.13-31.08.5501.09.13Ex-officio31.08.21
Miss Jane SeddonCO-OPT13.07.20-12.07.2401.09.16GB board31.08.21

*No voting rights.

Specific Responsibilities

Name of GovernorRole/Responsibility
Mr David Whitehead – ChairPerformance Management, MFL, Geography, Link
Cllr Charles RigbyPerformance Management
Mrs Kath FreemanSEND
Mrs Rebecca Ramsdenn/a
Mr Paul McCafferyHeadteacher, Global
Mrs Karen Vitalisn/a
Mr Neil Robertsn/a
Mr David LiggettPSHE, Arts/Music
Mrs Lynn Hayes – Vice ChairPupil Premium, PE
Mrs Victoria JacksonEnglish, Health & Safety
Mr Channon WoodwardNumeracy, Data
Mrs Joanna CoopAttendance, CLA, Safeguarding Child Protection
Ms Deborah MorganClerk

Committee Structure

Asset CommitteeStandards CommitteePay Committee
Remit: To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding, Finance, Personnel and Health and SafetyRemit: To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding, Standards in school and the curriculumRemit: To make decisions about performance related pay for teachers and the Headteacher
Mrs Victoria Jackson (Chair)Mr David WhiteheadMr David Whitehead (Headteacher pay)
Cllr Charles RigbyMrs Rebecca RamsdenMrs Kath Freeman
Mr David WhiteheadMr Paul McCafferyMr Channon Woodward (Chair)
Mr Neil RobertsMr David LiggettMr Paul McCaffery
Mrs Lynn Hayes (Vice Chair)Mrs Lynn Hayes (Chair)Mrs Lynn Hayes
Mr Paul McCafferyMr Neil RobertsCllr Charles Rigby (Headteacher pay Chair)
Mr Channon WoodwardMr Channon Woodward (Vice Chair)
Mr David LiggettMrs Joanna Coop
Mrs Karen VitalisMrs Kath FreemanMs Deborah Morgan (Clerk)
Ms Deborah Morgan (Clerk)Ms Deborah Morgan (Clerk)

Ad-hoc Committees:

  • Staff Disciplinary
  • Pupil Discipline
  • Complaints
  • Appeals

Three governors with no prior knowledge will be called alphabetically to form the committee.

Click here to download the Terms of Reference Ad-hoc Committee

Click here to download the Terms of Reference Standards Committee

Click here to download the Terms of Reference Asset Committee

Click here to download the Terms of Reference Pay Committee

NameDetails of Pecuniary InterestDetails of personal interest
Cllr Charles RigbyWigan CouncillorNil
Mr David WhiteheadCompany DirectorNil
Mrs Kath FreemanNilNil
Mrs Rebecca RamsdenNilNil
Mr Paul McCafferyNilNil
Mr David LiggettGeneral ManagerNil
Mrs Lynn HayesCentre Manager, Primary GovernorNil
Mrs Victoria JacksonICAEW member, KPMG LLPNil
Mrs Karen VitalisNilNil
Mr Neil RobertsBusinessesNil
Mr Channon WoodwardNilParent of a child at Bedford.
Mrs Joanna CoopAssociate Governor at PrimaryParent of a child at Bedford.

Click here for Attendance Record 2021-2022
Click here for Attendance Record 2020-2021

Click here for Attendance Record 2019-2020